Member of the Year

Phil Studebaker, Member of the Year

In 1978, the Los Angeles and Orange Area Chapter chose to recognize one member on an annual basis for exceptional accomplishment and effort in promoting the Association in its cause at the chapter level. The "Member of the Year Award" was officially established by the Board of Directors to recognize this member. In 2001, the Board of Directors revised the name of the award to the "Phil Studebaker Member of the Year Award" in honor of Mr. Phil Studebaker, one of the founders of the Maintenance Superintendents Association.

An award criterion was established to ensure that the individual chosen to receive the award has already contributed to valued accomplishments and exhibits enthusiasm and eagerness at the chapter level. Examples of the criterion include involvement in the areas of education and programs, administration, special promotions, and committees. Deserving nominees must also have spent time serving their own community, such as participating in service clubs, church activities, or youth and/or senior organizations.

The current president selects the new award recipient from nominations submitted by the Board of Directors. The individual nominated does not know of the award until he/she receives it at the Annual Officer Installation Luncheon in July of each year.

The past recipients of this award are members who were instrumental in the progress and success of the Chapter. Their long-term service, dedication, and contributions have set them apart and have proven them to be deserving of this award.

Member of the Year Recipient List

2023: Gene Viramontes, City of Fullerton/Huntington Park (Retired)

2022: Alfredo Onate, City of Bell Gardens

2021: Gerard Batista, City of Duarte

2020: None

2019: Joe Dillman, City of Irvine

2018: Abel Hernandez, City of Bell

2017: Mark Esquer; Orange County Sanitation District

2017: Keith Hinckley: City of Newport Beach

2017: Patty Pena: City of San Gabriel

2017: Ray Valenzuela; City of Long Beach

2016: Inez Alvarez; City of Norwalk

2015: Bill Ornelas; City of Duarte (Retired)

2014: None

2013: Troy Wittenbrock; City of Duarte

2013: Will Wenz; City of Brea

2012: Carolyn Melanson; City of Garden Grove

2011: Bob Moungey; City Of Garden Grove

2010: Ken Boyce; City Of Carson (retired)

2009: Ken Boyce; City Of Carson (retired)

2009: Carolyn Melanson; City Of Garden Grove

2008: Troy Wittenbrock; City Of Duarte

2007: James Devoy; City Of Norwalk

2006: Dave Thompson; City Of Arcadia

2005: Gene Viramontes; City Of Fullerton

2005: Geoff Cobbett; City Of Placentia (retired)

2004: Fullmer Chapman; City Of La Canada Flintridge (retired)

2003: Juan Price; City Of Manhattan Beach

2003: Steve Esbenshade; City Of Duarte

2002: Dave Torres; City Of South Gate

2001: Geoff Cobbett; City Of Placentia

2000: Bob Aronson; City Of Long Beach

1999: Keith Jones; City Of Garden Grove

1998: Keith Jones; City Of Garden Grove

1998: Geoff Cobbett; City Of Placentia

1997: Richard A. Urban; City Of Pasadena

1996: Andy Montoya; City Of Inglewood

1995: Louie H. Pedroza, Jr.; City Of Azusa

1994: William Ornelas; City Of Duarte

1993: Louis Vecchione; City Of Anaheim

1992: Geoff Cobbett; City Of Placentia

1991: Louis Vecchione; City Of Anaheim